The Poet X

by Elizabeth Acevedo

£7.99


Reserve a copy

×

Reserve a copy

Reserve a copy of The Poet X for collection at Hart's Books. If you provide your email address below, we will contact you when this item is ready for collection. For delivery by post add the address to the order notes and we will be in touch to arrange payment.

Teenage

Paperback

9781405291460

Published by Egmont UK Ltd

Published May 2018

Books > Teenage

Shortlisted for the CILIP Carnegie Medal 2019 

Winner of the 2018 National Book Award

Xiomara has always kept her words to herself.

When it comes to standing her ground in her Harlem neighbourhood, she lets her fists and her fierceness do the talking. But X has secrets – her feelings for a boy in her bio class, and the notebook full of poems that she keeps under her bed. And a slam poetry club that will pull those secrets into the spotlight. Because in spite of a world that might not want to hear her, Xiomara refuses to stay silent.

A novel about finding your voice and standing up for what you believe in, no matter how hard it is to say. Brave, bold and beautifully written – dealing with issues of race, feminism and faith – this is perfect for fans of Orangeboy and Everything Everything, The Children of Blood and Bone, The Hate U Give and One. 

Elizabeth Acevedo was born and raised in New York City and her poetry is infused with Dominican bolero and her beloved city’s tough grit. The Poet X is her debut novel. With over twelve years of performance experience, Acevedo has delivered several TED Talks. Acevedo is a National Slam Champion, Beltway Grand Slam Champion, and the 2016 Women of the World Poetry Slam representative for Washington, D.C, where she lives and works.

Concrete Rose by Angie Thomas | 9781406384444

Concrete Rose

Angie Thomas

£7.99

The Black Friend by Frederick Joseph | 9781529500615

The Black Friend

Frederick Joseph

£8.99

The Ocean at the End of the Lane – Illustrated Edition by Neil Gaiman | 9781472260222

The Ocean at the End of the Lane – Illustrated Edition

Neil Gaiman

£9.99

Eight Pieces of Silva by Patrice Lawrence | 9781444954746

Eight Pieces of Silva

Patrice Lawrence

£7.99

Midnight Sun by Stephenie Meyer | 9780349003627

Midnight Sun

Stephenie Meyer

£20.00

Wayward Son by Rainbow Rowell | 9781509896905

Wayward Son

Rainbow Rowell

£7.99