The Country of Others

by Leila Slimani

£8.99

Fiction

Paperback

9780571361632

Published by Faber & Faber

Published May 2022

Books > Fiction

‘A panoramic, ambitious tale.’ The Times ‘Exceptional.’ Salman Rushdie ‘Powerful.’ Christine Mangan ‘Captivating.’ Elle From the internationally bestselling author of Lullaby, The Country of Others is perfect for fans of Elena Ferrante, Tracy Chevalier, and Maggie O’Farrell. 1944. After the Liberation, Mathilde leaves France to join her husband in Morocco. But life here is unrecognisable to this brave and passionate young woman. Her life is now that of a farmer’s wife – with all the sacrifices and vexations that brings. Suffocated by the heat, by her loneliness on the farm and by the mistrust she inspires as a foreigner, Mathilde grows increasingly restless. As Morocco’s struggle for independence intensifies, Mathilde and her husband find themselves caught in the crossfire.

Family and Borghesia by Natalia Ginzburg | 9781914198847

Family and Borghesia

Natalia Ginzburg

£9.99

Rhine Journey by Ann Schlee | 9781914198885

Rhine Journey

Ann Schlee

£9.99

Belly Up by Rita Bullwinkel | 9781914198748

Belly Up

Rita Bullwinkel

£9.99

Appointment with Yesterday by Celia Fremlin | 9780571391271

Appointment with Yesterday

Celia Fremlin

£9.99

Blue Sisters by Coco Mellors | 9780008622992

Blue Sisters

Coco Mellors

£16.99

Tom Lake by Ann Patchett | 9781526664297

Tom Lake

Ann Patchett

£9.99